Yesterday’s Karma

First the back story: one of my current students comes to every class with a large cup of coffee. I love coffee. And I have to stand there, every class, and try to teach while he sips down the black gold V.I.P level caffeine delivery system. He slurps. He gulps. He tries not to go “ah” but I hear him whisper it under his breath. Finally, I snapped. I playfully admonished him for waving my drug under my nose without offering some up–very bad drug etiquette, my friend. He laughed. I laughed. The class laughed. We all laughed! The coffee slurping student was so amused that he started bringing me cups of coffee. He always brings me cream no sugar, but it’s the thought that counts. And it is always very funny.

So, fast forward to last night. I am walking across campus, heading to my classroom, and I see a former student, Megan. I haven’t seen Megan in two years. She is about to graduate. She is very mature. She is asking me a barrage of questions. I am nodding and answering as fast as I can when, suddenly, in the middle of our little reuinion, the coffee student walks up to me, hands me a cup of coffee, and walks away.

I take a sip and return to listening to Megan, but now she is silent. She looks at the cup of coffee, looks after the delivery boy, looks back at the coffee, and then at me. Her expression is screaming “What the fuck?!”

And what do I say?

“Oh this?” I shrugged. “You know, celebrity life.”

🙂

~ by Charles Bivona on August 6, 2009.

One Response to “Yesterday’s Karma”

  1. Dude! Friking Awesome. Where do you teach and what do you teach?
    If I had my guess, and bare in mind that I’ve not read much from your site so if the answer is there I have not come across it yet, I would say you teach something that involves thinking, or at least you incorporate active thinking in your classes.

    Bravo Charles

Leave a comment